Westminster College Seeks Renewal of NWCCU Accreditation

Converse and Mountains

Dec 6, 2019

Westminster College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). NWCCU accreditation is renewed on a seven-year cycle. Westminster’s last accreditation renewal occurred in 2013, and the current cycle began in 2014 with the Commission’s acceptance of the college’s Mission and Core Themes report. NWCCU accepted Westminster’s mid-cycle report in 2016, and in 2020, the college will undergo a comprehensive evaluation to assess mission fulfillment and sustainability. The evaluation process includes a visit to campus by a committee of NWCCU representatives on April 6-8, 2020.  The public is invited to send comments regarding Westminster’s qualification for accreditation directly to NWCCU no later than March 6, 2020. Comments must be signed and sent to:  
The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities 
8060 165th Avenue NE Suite 100 
Redmond, WA 98052 
Signed comments are forwarded, as received, to the college, the evaluation committee, and the Commission. To obtain a copy of Commission Policy A-5, Public Notification and Third Party Comments Regarding Full-Scale Evaluations contact the Commission office at 425/558-4224 or submit at www.nwccu.org via Standards and Policies then Operational Policies links.  

Media Contacts

Arikka Vonavon@westminstercollege.edu801.832.2682

About Westminster

Westminster is a private, independent, and comprehensive college in Salt Lake City, Utah. Students experience the liberal arts blended with professional programs in an atmosphere dedicated to civic engagement. With the goal of enabling its graduates to live vibrant, just, and successful lives, Westminster provides transformational learning experiences for both undergraduate and graduate students in a truly student-centered environment. Faculty focus on teaching, learning, and developing distinctive, innovative programs, while students thrive on Westminster’s urban Sugar House campus within minutes of the Rocky Mountains.

Additional Resources