Power Lunches

The Gore Business School Power Lunches are events that allow our students, alumni and faculty members come together to listen to business leaders and network with business professionals.

These events are held 3 times during Fall and Spring Semesters.

There is no cost associated with the registration for these events thanks to a generous contribution by Wells Fargo.

Next Power Lunch

Ron Jibson started with Dominion Energy as a design engineer. Since then, he’s worked his way up the ranks until he was named president and CEO of Questar Gas Company in 2007. Three years later, Mr. Jibson was named the president and CEO of the Questar Corporation in 2010 and was named to the board during that same year, becoming a chairperson of the board in 2012. In 2016, Questar Corporation merged with Dominion Energy and Mr. Jibson retired as president and CEO and became a member of the Dominion Energy Board of Directors, where he currently serves.


During his tenure, Mr. Jibson has been a part of several major growth initiatives such as the Cove Point LNG Plant, the design and construction of the Atlanta Coast Pipeline project, and the merger of SCANA Corporation in South Carolina. But that’s not all, Mr. Jibson has helped Dominion Energy develop diversified energy projects such as natural gas, solar, nuclear, and electric gas generation and distribution as well.


Throughout his career, Mr. Jibson has served as a board member at several local nonprofit groups such as EDC Utah, Junior Achievement of Utah, the Women’s Leadership Institute, Utah Symphony Opera, United Way of Salt Lake, and others.


 “There are so many wonderful and worthy causes that need people to be involved and help and the lives they change as nonprofit organizations is something you cannot put a price tag on,” he says. “I firmly believe it is all of our responsibilities to seek out and give back to the communities where we live and do business.”

Robert Gross

Past Lunches

In the past, the following executives have addressed our graduate business students:

  • Chris Anderson, Executive Chairman, HandStands Products
  • Aurora Taylor-Rojas, VP of Engineering, L3 Communications
  • Cindy Crane, CEO, Rocky Mountain Power
  • David Bywater, CEO, Vivint.Solar
  • Pat Jones, CEO, Women’s Leadership Institute
  • Marc Harrison, MD, President and CEO, Intermountain Healthcare
  • Craig Wagstaff, President, Dominion Questar
  • Marc Capone, President and CEO, Myriad
  • Bruce Pfau, PhD, Senior Partner, KPMG Human Capital Strategy and Culture Transformation
  • Nigel Steward, Managing Director Operations, Rio Tinto Kennecott Copper & Diamonds
  • Tiger Shaw, President and CEO, United States Ski and Snowboard Association
  • Geralyn Dreyfous, Founder, Utah Film Center
  • Dee O’Donnell, Regional President, Wells Fargo
  • Tom Carmazzi, CEO at Tuthill Corporation
  • Peter Metcalf, CEO at Black Diamond
  • Crystal Maggelet, President & Chief Executive Officer at FJ Management
  • Michael Pacanowsky, Gore-Giovale Chair in Business Innovation Management, Westminster College
  • Randy Rasmussen, PhD—President and CEO, BioFire Diagnostics
  • Derek Miller: President and CEO, World Trade Center Utah
  • Stephane Leblanc: COO and Managing Director, Rio Tinto Kennecott
  • Heather Deason Zynczak: Chief Marketing Officer, DOMO
  • Gail Miller: Owner, Larry H. Miller Group of Companies
  • Spencer P. Eccles: Executive Director, Governor's Office of Economic Development
  • Dell Loy Hansen: Founder, CEO, and President, Wasatch Property Management, Owner of REAL Salt Lake
  • Lane Beattie: President and CEO, Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce
  • Doug Morton: Former CEO and current chairman of the board, The Sports Authority
  • Michael Phillips: Co-founder and Principal Partner, Phillips Edison & Company
  • Laura Kaiser: COO, Intermountain Healthcare
  • Ron Jibson: President and CEO, Questar Corporation
  • Preston Chiaro: Group Executive in Technology & Innovation, Rio Tinto Kennecott
  • Crystal Maggelet: Chairman, President and CEO, FJ Management
  • Jack Muller: Managing Director, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney Utah Market
  • David Hemink: CEO, Bard Access Systems
  • Scott Beck: President, CHG Healthcare
  • Mark DeYoung: President and CEO, ATK
  • Susan Johnson: President, Futura Industries
  • Bob Nilsen: President, Café Rio
  • Dean Cottle: Sr. VP and Manager, Morgan Stanley Utah Operations
  • Jeff Nelson: President, Nelson Laboratories
  • Patrick Byrne: Chairman and CEO, Overstock.com
  • Bill Manning: President, REAL Salt Lake
  • David Lang: VP and Managing Director, Goldman Sachs Utah Operations
  • Charles Sorenson: President and CEO, Intermountain Healthcare
  • Nathan Rafferty: President, Ski Utah
  • Rich Parkinson: CEO, Associated Food Stores, Inc.
  • Jill Taylor: President, Key Bank Utah Operations
  • Harris H. Simmons: Chairman, President and CEO, Zions Bancorporation
  • Anthony Kennedy Shriver: Founder, Best Buddies International


The MBA Power Lunch series is made possible by a generous donation from Wells Fargo.

Wells Fargo Logo