School of Arts and Sciences Resources


General Office Information

Hours of Operation

  • Fall and Spring | Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 6:30 PM
  • May and Summer | Monday through Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM
  • Foster 218

Administrators and Office Staff

Division of Labor

Program Chairs : Resources

2016-2017 Program Chairs

Anthropology | Gretchen Siegler, gsiegler@westminstercollege.edu
Arts Administration | Kim Zarkin, kzarkin@westminstercollege.edu
Biology | Brian Avery, bavery@westminstercollege.edu; Bonnie Baxter, bbaxter@westminstercollege.edu
Chemistry | Will Deutschman, wdeutschman@westminstercollege.edu
Communication | Kim Zarkin, kzarkin@westminstercollege.edu
Computer Science | Greg Gagne, ggagne@westminstercollege.edu; Helen Hu, hhu@westminstercollege.edu
Dance | Nina Vought, nvought@westminstercollege.edu
Data Science | Sean Raleigh, sraleigh@westminstercollege.edu
English | Sean Desilets, sdesilets@westminstercollege.edu
Environmental Studies | Brent Olson, bolson@westminstercollege.edu
Film Studies | Sean Desilets, sdesilets@westminstercollege.edu
Fine Arts | Clayton Keyes, ckeyes@westminstercollege.edu
Gender Studies | Eileen Chanza Torres, echanzatorres@westminstercollege.edu
Geology | David Goldsmith, dgoldsmith@westminstercollege.edu
Global Studies | Leonardo Figueroa-Helland, lfigueroahelland@westminstercollege.edu
History | Gary Marquardt, gmarquardt@westminstercollege.edu
Language | Deyanira Ariza-Velasco, davelasco@westminstercollege.edu
Mathematics | Bill Bynum, bbynum@westminstercollege.edu
Master of Professional Communication | Helen Hodgson, hhodgson@westminstercollege.edu
Master of Strategic Communication | Curtis Newbold, cnewbold@westminstercollege.edu
Master of Science in Mental Heath Counseling | Colleen Sandor, csandor@westminstercollege.edu
Music | Brandon Derfler, bderfler@westminstercollege.edu
Neuroscience | Lesa Ellis, lellis@westminstercollege.edu
Philosophy & Religious Studies | Michael Popich, mpopich@westminstercollege.edu; Kara Barnette, kbarnette@westminstercollege.edu
Physics | Chris Cline, ccline@westminstercollege.edu
Political Science and Justice Studies | Leonardo Figueroa-Helland, lfigueroa-helland@westminstercollege.edu
Psychology | Jennifer Simonds, jsimonds@westminstercollege.edu
Science Division Chair | Robyn Hyde, rhyde@westminstercollege.edu
Sociology | Mark Rubinfeld, mrubinfeld@westminstercollege.edu; Kristjane Nordmeyer, knordmeyer@westminstercollege.edu
Speech | Scott Gust, sgust@westminstercollege.edu
Theatre | Michael Vought, mvought@westminstercollege.edu; Jared Larkin, jlarkin@westminstercollege.edu

Program Directors

English for International Students (EIS) | Jennifer Ritter, jritter@westminstercollege.edu
Great Salt Lake Institute | Bonnie Baxter, bbaxter@westminstercollege.edu
Honors | Richard Badenhausen, rbadenhausen@westminstercollege.edu; David Goldsmith (Assistant Director), dgoldsmith@westminstercollege.edu
Learning Communities | Barbara Smith, bsmith@westminstercollege.edu
Music | Chris Quinn, cquinn@westminstercollege.edu
Sutton Weeks Poetry Series | Natasha Sajé, nsaje@westminstercollege.edu
Writing Center | Chris LeCluyse, clecluyse@westminstercollege.edu

2015-2016 Program Chairs

Anthropology | Gretchen Siegler, gsiegler@westminstercollege.edu
Arts Administration | David Dynak, ddynak@westminstercollege.edu
Biology | Bonnie Baxter, bbaxter@westminstercollege.edu
Chemistry | Will Deutschman, wdeutschman@westminstercollege.edu
Communication | Kim Zarkin, kzarkin@westminstercollege.edu
Computer Science | Greg Gagne, ggagne@westminstercollege.edu; Helen Hu, hhu@westminstercollege.edu
Dance | Nina Vought, nvought@westminstercollege.edu
English | Chris LeCluyse, clecluyse@westminstercollege.edu
Environmental Studies| Christy Clay, cclay@westminstercollege.edu
Film Studies | Sean Desilets, sdesilets@westminstercollege.edu
Fine Arts | Matt Kruback, mkruback@westminstercollege.edu
Gender Studies | Kristjane Nordmeyer, knordmeyer@westminstercollege.edu
Geology | David Goldsmith, dgoldsmith@westminstercollege.edu
History | Gary Marquardt, gmarquardt@westminstercollege.edu
Language | Deyanira Ariza-Velasco, davelasco@westminstercollege.edu
Mathematics | Liz Herrick, lherrick@westminstercollege.edu; Janine Wittwer, jwittwer@westminstercollege.edu
Master of Professional Communication | Helen Hodgson, hhodgson@westminstercollege.edu
Master of Strategic Communication | Christy Seifert, cseifert@westminstercollege.edu
Master of Science in Mental Heath Counseling | Colleen Sandor, csandor@westminstercollege.edu
Music | Brandon Derfler, bderfler@westminstercollege.edu
Neuroscience | Lesa Ellis, lellis@westminstercollege.edu
Philosophy & Religious Studies | Michael Popich, mpopich@westminstercollege.edu; Kara Barnette, kbarnette@westminstercollege.edu
Physics | Chris Cline, ccline@westminstercollege.edu
Political Science and Justice Studies | Leonardo Figueroa-Helland, lfigueroa-helland@westminstercollege.edu
Psychology | Jennifer Simonds, jsimonds@westminstercollege.edu
Sociology | Mark Rubinfeld, mrubinfeld@westminstercollege.edu
Speech | Scott Gust, sgust@westminstercollege.edu
Theatre | Michael Vought, mvought@westminstercollege.edu

Program Directors

English for International Students (EIS) | Jennifer Ritter, jritter@westminstercollege.edu
Great Salt Lake Institute | Bonnie Baxter, bbaxter@westminstercollege.edu
Honors | Richard Badenhausen, rbadenhausen@westminstercollege.edu; David Goldsmith (Assistant Director), dgoldsmith@westminstercollege.edu
Learning Communities | Barbara Smith, bsmith@westminstercollege.edu
Music | Chris Quinn, cquinn@westminstercollege.edu (Fall 2014: Brandon Derfler)
Sutton Weeks Poetry Series | Natasha Sajé, nsaje@westminstercollege.edu
Westminster Center for Innovation and Creativity | David Dynak, ddynak@westminstercollege.edu
Writing Center | Chris LeCluyse, clecluyse@westminstercollege.edu

Chair Selection Policy

Policy for Westminster College

2.9.1 Chair of a Program

A chair or director, elected by the faculty of each program and/or appointed by the dean, reports to the dean. In programs with few full-time faculty, when an election is impractical, the dean consults with the program faculty and appoints a chair. Each school shall maintain a written policy, approved by the school’s faculty, that specifies the term length served by chairs and establishes regular process for review of sitting chairs prior to their reappointment or reelection.

Policy for Arts and Sciences

In the School of Arts and Sciences, program and/or division faculty recommend chairs to the dean, who appoints them to a term of no more than three years. There are no term limits to these positions, but on a rotating schedule, every chair comes up for review and selection at least every three years. A chair, for a variety of reasons, may not complete a three-year term, at which time a new selection process takes place. Normally, the selection process consists of an election by ballot.

In the first year of their term, chairs have either an orientation or meeting in which the expectations and responsibilities of the chairs are explained and discussed. The dean will provide feedback to new chairs at the beginning of the second year.

At the end of a chair’s three-year term, the dean (or designee) schedules a meeting with the chair to review his or her term as chair. The dean will accept solicited and unsolicited feedback from faculty and discuss this feedback, along with any observations of the dean.

In general, the School of Arts and Sciences does not encourage faculty to serve as chair during their first two years at Westminster and does encourage the rotation of the chair position over time to allow for the development of experience and leadership among the faculty.

This policy does not override contractual arrangements between individual faculty members and the college that specifically address the chair position (e.g., endowed chairs).

Program Chair Duties

Unless otherwise arranged, the term for a program chair runs from July 1 to June 30.

General Duties

Conduct meetings of program faculty
Represent program at Chair's Meeting (12-1 PM, prior to monthly A&S Faculty Meetings)
Handle student complaints; or refer complaints to Dean
Be available to meet with students, faculty, and staff as needed, including summer months
Collaborate with the START Center to advise or assign advisors to incoming transfer students
Coordinate with A&S Office to update program website - Website policy under review
Oversee, or delegate, program review and annual progress report
Collaborate with other program chairs to staff A&S Committees - Division Structure under review

Staffing

Hire, review performance of Adjunct Faculty; mediate if there are any questions or issues
Liaison with Coordinator of Adjunct Faculty to provide resources and support for Adjunct Faculty
Conduct classroom observations for new adjunct faculty and new full-time faculty
Serve on program faculty search committees
Serve on contract review committees per the faculty manual

Program Budgets

Submit budget request materials to A&S Office and review requests with Dean
Approve program expenses and monitor program budget

Course Schedules

Create, submit course schedules after meeting with program faculty and other affected programs
Meet A&S scheduling deadlines
Monitor enrollments
Email scheduling updates to Assistant Dean
Notify Adjunct Faculty immediately if course is cancelled (the A&S Office notifies students)

Curriculum Maintenance

Assume primary responsibility for submitting program curriculum changes to Associate Deans
Support curriculum proposals at appropriate committee meetings
Review catalog copy and submit changes to A&S Office

Duties To Allocate Among All Program Faculty

Advising, including summer advising
Overseeing internships
Attending Admissions/Recruitment events
Mentoring Adjunct Faculty

docx Program Chair Rotation (15 KB)

Scheduling Documents

Curriculum Revision

Annual Reviews and Program Reviews

Budget Request Documents

doc IS Requests (28 KB)
doc Facility Requests (27 KB)
pdf Blank-W9 (78 KB)

Student Workers and Research Assistants (for Supervisors)

HR Home Page for Student Employment

Arts and Science Faculty Resources

Please be sure to check your Westminster email regularly as this is how Westminster College employees correspond with faculty and staff.

For all Faculty

If you plan to submit receipts for a reimbursement related to your program, please follow these steps.

  1. Obtain approval from the Program Chair in writing and forward that email of approval to the Assistant Dean.
  2. Submit your receipts as soon as possible to the Assistant Dean following best practices:
    1. Do not highlight items or write on thermal paper receipts (it degrades legibility).
    2. Submit original receipts, not copies.
  3. The Assistant Dean will process your reimbursement as a check unless you ask for a Direct Deposit. Please allow three weeks for the check to arrive (Jaime Glauser will email you when your check has arrived in the A&S Office). If it's been longer than three weeks, bring it to the attention of the Assistant Dean, who will inquire about the status of your reimbursement.
  4. In order to receive a Direct Deposit for reimbursements, you can do one of two things:
    1. Download and fill out a Direct Deposit Authorization form (found here) and email it to Twila Wycoff (twcoff@westminstercollege.edu).
    2. Visit Accounting Services in Bamberger Hall (Room 103) and work with Twila Wycoff to complete and submit the Direct Deposit Authorization form.

Full-time Faculty

The 12-1 PM hour will be a working meeting with the four Arts & Sciences deans and the program chairs. The 1-2 PM hour will be the regular faculty meeting for all Arts & Sciences faculty. The 2-3 PM hour is a great time for individual programs to meet (in a location convenient for that program).

12-2 PM meetings are held in the HWAC Special Events Room.

September 23

October 28

November 18

December 16

January 27

February 24

March 24

April 21

May | TBA

Full-time faculty are eligible to apply for travel funding twice during the academic year. If approved, we award up to $700 per request for attending a conference or professional meeting and up to $1000 per request for presenting at a conference or professional meeting; however, each faculty member can only receive $1000 one time each academic year. In order to accommodate requests that fall at different points in the year, there are three different deadlines:

May 1 for travel or related dues that fall between July 1 and September 30
September 1 for travel or related dues that fall between October 1 and February 16
January 15 for travel or related dues that fall between February 17 and June 30

Click here to apply for travel funding.

After Ashley Kramer has collected the requests and corresponded with the Faculty Travel Committee, she will notify you about your approval--no later than 30 days after the request deadline. Turn in all receipts (at one time, or as you acquire them) to Ashley Kramer in Foster 204.

Some Tips for Good Record-Keeping

  • Keep the receipts that show taxes and tips.
  • Don't highlight items or write on thermal paper receipts (it degrades legibility).
  • If computing your mileage reimbursement, here are the correct rates to use:
  • 2014 rate: $0.56/mile for travel on/after January 1, 2014
    2015 rate: $0.575/mile for travel on/after January 1, 2015

Full-time faculty working with students on research are eligible to apply for travel grants. Funds are limited, but if approved, we award the following amounts for presenting at conferences and professional meetings:

  • up to $1000 for a faculty member
  • up to $600 for a student

In order to accommodate requests that fall at different points in the year, there are three different deadlines:

May 15 for travel or related dues that fall between July 1 and September 30
September 15 for travel or related dues that fall between October 1 and February 16
January 30 for travel or related dues that fall between February 17 and June 30

Applying for a Travel Grant

By the appropriate deadline, and via email to Ashley Kramer, the faculty member should submit a two-page summary of the work done with the student(s). Include dates, times, place, and nature of the conference, and a projected budget for travel expenses.

The A&S Deans will collaborate with the A&S Faculty Travel Committee to award the grants. Ashley Kramer will notify all applicants about decisions.

Submitting Receipts and Documents

Once you've been approved for funding, submit receipts (at one time, or as you acquire them) to Ashley Kramer.

Tips for Good Record-Keeping

  • Keep the receipts that show taxes and tips.
  • Don't highlight items or write on thermal paper receipts (it degrades legibility).
  • If computing your mileage reimbursement, here is the current rate:
  • 2015 rate: $0.575/mile for travel on/after January 1, 2015

A Post-Doctoral/Post-Graduate program in support of the learning paradigm and a diverse academic environment

Click here to apply

The Program

Westminster College is dedicated to providing new PhDs (and other terminal degree holders in disciplines as appropriate) with opportunities to develop proficiency in the learning paradigm and to providing a diverse academic environment for its students. To that end, Westminster has created the Westminster Teaching Fellows program to attract and support promising post-doctoral (and other terminal degree holders in disciplines as appropriate) scholars from various backgrounds whose life experience, research experience, and employment background will contribute significantly to the academic excellence of the College.

Westminster College’s commitment to diversity and internationalization is revealed in its core values, mission and vision statements, and learning goals. The college’s strategic plans include a commitment to investing in programs, facilities, and people that are critical to the college’s ability to realize its long-range vision to prepare students for success in a diverse, global society. We strongly encourage applications from candidates who are from groups that have been historically underrepresented in higher education.

The Westminster Teaching Fellows program began in 2011. We are proud to report that the first two individuals hired through this program have both obtained permanent, full-time faculty positions at the rank of Assistant Professor. In 2013-2014, the Westminster Teaching Fellows Program will conduct searches for two fellows to join the faculty in Fall 2014: one in Theatre and one in Psychology. We seek candidates who will flourish in a Learning Paradigm environment and who will help the College provide an inclusive learning environment for our increasingly diverse student body, integrate diversity issues into the curriculum and/or provide a focus on global consciousness in the curriculum.

In addition to teaching responsibilities, Fellows will participate in a year-long faculty development program that includes

  • Monthly discussion groups focused on a topic related to the learning paradigm
  • Classroom observations by experienced faculty at least once a semester, followed by constructive dialogue with feedback and discussion
  • Videotaping of one class for personal review
  • Participation in the First Year Faculty Learning Community

Fellows will be assigned a faculty mentor throughout their fellowship

Fellows will be able to participate in regular on-campus Westminster faculty development activities

Second Year Fellows will have the opportunity to teach in Learning Communities with experienced faculty

Second Year Fellows will participate in employment “readiness” opportunities including:

  • Mock interview
  • Mock research presentation
  • Mock teaching presentation

Teaching Load 

Regular 24-credit hour teaching load (may include options to work with undergraduates on research and creative opportunities).

Appointment 

Two year appointment with the possibility of a third year extension.

Appointment will be reviewed annually by program chair and appropriate dean.

Fellowship recipients must provide proof of authorization to work in the United States. Visa sponsorship will not be considered for these Fellowships.

For information on searches currently underway at Westminster College, please see our Online Job Board

Updated November, 2013

Committees