A private comprehensive liberal arts college in Salt Lake City, UT, offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in liberal arts and professional programs. Website

Westminster's Sociology Program

Sociology is the study of social life including social interactions, relationships, organizations, and institutions. Exploring the social contexts of "who we are," what we do," and "why we do it," sociologists not only seek to enhance our understanding of the social world but also to make a lasting positive difference in that world as well as the lives of the people who inhabit it. With more than twenty-five sociology courses to choose from and four optional sociology concentrations to consider in social inequality, gender and sexuality, race and ethnicity, and social work and social welfare, Westminster College sociology students have ample opportunity to engage in socially meaningful and relevant subject matter while learning from caring professors who, in addition to being nationally-recognized experts in their fields, are passionate about their work and just as passionate about their teaching. With their support, Westminster College sociology students have presented their undergraduate research at national academic conferences in, among other cities, San Diego, Los Angeles, San Francisco, New Orleans, St. Louis, San Antonio, Boston, Seattle, Washington, D.C., and Chicago, as well as participated in numerous service learning, internship, and practicum experiences. After graduation, Westminster College sociology students have worked in a wide variety of professional fields and settings including, among others, social services, public policy, public administration, law, government, criminal justice, academia, education, communications, environmental rights, counseling, social work, public health, rehabilitative services, human resources, public relations, marketing, and business, as well as have been accepted into some of the top graduate, professional, and doctoral programs in the country including, among others, the University of California at Berkeley, Columbia University, Boston College, Penn State University, Northwestern University, University of Washington, University of Texas, Louisiana State University, University of Utah, University of Maryland, and Georgetown University.