Jewett Center for the Performing Arts and Emma Eccles Jones Conservatory

Jewett Center for the Performing Arts and Emma Eccles Jones ConservatoryThe Jewett Center for the Performing Arts was initially funded by Berenice Jewett Bradshaw and dedicated April 13, 1991 under the presidency of Dr. Charles Dick (1985–1995). The Jay W. Lees Courage Theater replaced the small theater on the third floor of Converse Hall which was dedicated in 1983 to beloved theater Professor Jay Lees. The Emma Eccles Jones Conservatory (north addition) opened Fall of 2004 under the presidency of Dr. Michael Bassis (2002–2012).

The Conservatory triples the volume of performance space available on the Westminster Campus. The heart of the facility is the 285-seat Vieve Gore Concert Hall, which serves as an intimate environment for musical performances. Additionally, the Dumke Student Theatre is a 150-seat, black-box theatre with stage and seating that can be arranged in any configuration. The Conservatory also contains a rehearsal and recording studio, a technology lab, and multiple practice rooms.

Together, the Jewett Center for the Performing Arts and Emma Eccles Jones Conservatory house all campus music and theater classes. The Jewett Center's Courage Theater has been the home of many memorable performances by the Westminster Chamber Singers, Chamber Orchestra, and our critically acclaimed theatre department. Professional lunches and other campus functions are periodically held in the lobby where you can often see student art exhibits.

ADA Compliancy

Access is through the west door from the middle level of the parking terrace; use the elevator for access to the second floor.
Accessible entrances: west, first floor; two ramps on east side, second floor
Accessible restrooms: two, first and second floor
Automatic doors: one, west (first floor); one on northeast corner of building; one on southeast corner of building
Elevator(s)/Lift(s): two
Reserved parking: east, East Jewett Center Parking Lot and west, first floor Main Parking Structure


Choral and Music Rooms
Dumke Student Theatre (Black Box)
Faculty Offices (Fine Arts, Speech)
Jay W. Lees Courage Theatre

Tanner Atrium
Theatre Rehearsal Rooms
Ticket Office
Vieve Gore Concert Hall